At Southeast College, English is the language of instruction and examination. All international students must provide evidence of competent English language skills to enroll in a Southeast College program.

Unless otherwise indicated by program-specific English requirements, international students must demonstrate evidence of their English language skills in one of the following ways:

Overall minimum score of Band 6.5 with a minimum score of 5.0 in each component. Test result must be within two years.

Website: IELTS test in Canada | British Council

A minimum overall score of 105. Result must be submitted directly to Southeast College.

Website: Test your English online (


Completion of University Pathway program with at least 3.2.

Website: Learn English in Canada | ILAC


An overall minimum score of 81, with a minimum score of 19 in each of reading, listening, speaking and writing.

Website: The TOEFL Tests (

Successfully passing a minimum of 24 credits or the equivalent at an accredited and recognized institution where English is the language of instruction and examination.

A minimum grade of 70% in Grade 12 provincially-examined or state-examined English courses as part of one successful full-time year of study; OR successful completion of Grades 10, 11 and 12 English courses or their equivalents, in sequence, as part of three full-time years in a high school using provincially-accredited Canadian or state-accredited U.S. curriculum.

Exempt Countries Include:

American Samoa Gambia Philippines
Anguilla Ghana Puerto Rico
Antigua and Barbuda Great Britain Singapore
Aruba Grenada South Africa
Australia Guam St. Kitts and Nevis
Bahamas Guyana St. Lucia
Barbados Hong Kong Scotland
Belize Ireland Sierra Leone
Bermuda Jamaica Tanzania
Botswana Kenya Trinidad and Tobago
British Honduras Lesotho Turk and Caicos Islands
British Virgin Islands Malawi Uganda
Brunei Mauritius United States of America
Canada (except Quebec) Namibia US Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands New Zealand Wales
Dominica Nigeria Zambia
England Northern Ireland Zimbabwe
Falkland Islands Panama Canal Zone
Fiji Papua New Guinea

* Residents of Philippines, Hong Kong, and Mauritius must provide an attestation from their institutions confirming that English is the language of instruction.